Tobin is unfazed by class of riders...CWD

16/12/2010 08:26

 

Tobin is unfazed by class of riders

09 Dec, 2010 07:05 PM
CYCLING

ORANGE’S Angus Tobin might not have crossed the finish line in first place at the inaugural Bathurst men’s round of the NSW International Grand Prix criterium series, but he ticked a lot of boxes along the way.

In a frenetic race around the tiny 550m Bathurst Carillion 54-lap circuit, Tobin managed to stay on two wheels while many of his competitors fell, paving the way for the 18-year-old to finish in the top 20.

“I achieved both of my goals which were one - to avoid the crashes and two - to finish the race,” Tobin said.

“I think I may have just scraped into the top 20. But just the class of the race, it’s the most elite field I have ever ridden in.”

It’s a solid result for Tobin, who has had limited time on the bike of late.

“I haven’t had the best preparation with the HSC finishing a month ago,” he said.

“So again, (my goal is to) just to get through the series and improve my position in each race.

“If I can manage to do that then I’ll be happy.”

It’ll be a great achievement if Tobin can sustain his position in the top 20 riders on the tour.

He’ll be taking on accomplished riders the likes of Tour de France stage winner Simon Gerrans, New Zealanders Greg Henderson and Graeme Brown, who is also an Olympic champion.

British Olympic champion Ed Clancy is also in the 80-man field while Bathurst rider Dean Windsor is also competing.

Tobin said mixing it with the class of some of these international riders would help benefit his future aspirations.

“Definitely. The goal over the next couple of years is to move up the elite ranks and hopefully ride for a pro team,” he said.

Wednesday night’s Bathurst race was the first of five races in the NSW International Grand Prix criterium series.

The tour travelled to Parramatta yesterday before heading off to Gosford, back to Coogee and then on to Cronulla for the final leg on Sunday.

Tobin said the criterium format made for fast racing.

“They’re all short, tight circuits with fast corners. I think the longest track is 40km (in Cronulla),” he said.

“But it’s my specialty.

“To be able to test myself against this elite field is pretty exciting.”

A decisive move along Church Street and a superb team effort allowed Drapac Porsche rider Tom Palmer claim the inaugural Bathurst NSW Grand Prix criterium.

Orange riders Michael Troy and Owen MacPhillamy will also be competing in a support race at Cronulla on Sunday.