NSW State Criterium

22/04/2010 00:00

Top spot narrowly eludes Tobin in criterium

 

22 Apr, 2010 08:10 AM
CYCLING

 

ORANGE’S Angus Tobin and Michael Troy achieved strong results at the NSW Criterium Championships at Homebush’s Olympic Park complex on Sunday.

In perfect cycling conditions, Tobin finished second in his under 19 criterium race, while at the elite under 23 level, Troy finished with a top-10 placing.

Tobin, in his final year at James Sheahan Catholic High School, was one of the three marked riders in his event and believes if he had positioned himself better in the final stages of the 35-minute criterium he could have gone one better.

“I was pretty happy with my form leading into the race. I spent a lot of time at the front of the pack and should have really won,” Tobin said.

“One of my team-mates led in front of me heading into the final lap as we prepared for the sprint but unfortunately he was as tired as I was and when I finally got around him I didn’t quite make it.

“If the track had been five metres longer I would have won.”

Competing in the NSW championships as his final competitive race before the under 19 Australian Road Titles, Tobin finished second to Gunnedah’s Jack Hickey, while Jarrod Triggs from Sydney came in third.

Tobin will head to the nationals at Murwillumbah in a week’s time to compete in four events - an individual time trial, two road races and a criterium.

Tobin has one eye firmly on his pet event, the criterium.

“Criterium is my favourite race. I really enjoy them,” he said.

“It is a very tactical race. They’re run on a short, tight track and positioning is crucial. That’s where I came unstuck on the weekend.

“I’ve got the nationals in less than two weeks with the criterium race on the Monday. That’s what I’ve been looking forward to.”

The events also double as the final part of the selection races for the Australian team to compete in the Under 19 World Championships to be held in Italy in August this year.