Mulga Bills

25/07/2010 00:00

The inaugural Mulga Bill's Handicap was held on the weekend just past. A strong turn out, 50 riders, representing Orange, Bathurst and Dubbo clubs, faced a potentially fast course, out and back from Yeoval to Badry on the Renshaw-McGirr Way. 

Although touted as a flat course by several of the officials, there was never a flat moment in the course that was full of drag climbs and several pinches to soften the legs. Not to mention the Northerly wind that decided to pick up during the race that never really offered any assistance, with the riders battling cross winds on the way out and a nasty head wind on the homeward journey.

The dangerous bunches looked to be starting early, with large numbers and several riders hiding from the handicapper. This always was going to make it a hard day for the back markers of Blair Windsor (Bathurst & Budget Forklifts), Charlie Gascoyne and Mick Troy (Orange) and Josh Apoloney (Dubbo & Racing Kangaroos).

The winning ride came from one of the front bunches, with Emily Williams (Dubbo) coming away with the title.

Fastest time honours were up for grabs in the fast moving scratch bunch as they had been unable to catch any bunches infront. That sprint, lead out by Gascoyne came down to the wire, with Mick Troy needing a second kick to get around young gun Apoloney for the prize.



1 Emily Williams Dubbo

2 Zachary Baker Bathurst

3 Rhyle Baker Bathurst

4 Ian Reed Orange

5 Matt Dean Orange

6 Graham Wheeler Bathurst

7 Mark Windsor Bathurst

8 Graham Chapman Dubbo

 =8 Johnny Whiteside Waratah Masters

9 Ray Selmes Orange

10 Aaron Willmott Dubbo

11 David Gerrish Dubbo

12 Stuart Lobsey Dubbo


Fastest Male - Michael Troy  

Fastest Female - Emily Williams  


Commissaire - Sonia Marshall