Tobin gets win after a thrilling sprint to line...CWD

02/12/2010 00:00


Tobin gets win after a thrilling sprint to line

02 Dec, 2010 08:10 AM


ANGUS Tobin showed his class in a thrilling sprint to the line to claim the Orange Cycle Club’s 36km scratch race on Saturday around the Forest Reefs-Tallwood circuit.

A total of 20 riders competed on the day, enjoying the scratch format as opposed to the more common handicap events.

In a scratch race all competitors start on equal terms. Final positions are based on the final order across the line at the completion of the race, with riders on Saturday competing in two divisions - A-B grade and C-D grade.

In the combined A-B grade race Mick Cain and Dave Van Schaik jumped early and attempted to break away from the bunch, enabling them to quickly establish a 200m lead.

The remainder of the bunch, led by form A grade riders Mick Troy, Angus Tobin and Owen MacPhillamy combined well with Jeff Stewart, Grant Roe, Matt Dean, Rod Forrest, Mark Tobin and Bathurst rider Scott Allen to maintain a solid pace while enjoying the benefit of a tailwind.

At the completion of the first lap Cain and Van Schaik were caught.

Riders regrouped but not for long as Angus Tobin caught the pack napping and accelerated up a short, sharp incline.

The only rider to react was Troy and the two set off, leaving the remainder to chase.

MacPhillamy was the first rider from the bunch to react, bridging the gap, but the remaining riders with the advantage of a tailwind and downhill run were eventually able to rejoin the lead riders.

The pace dropped but not for long as MacPhillamy took advantage of the lull in proceedings and took off again.

At this point it became clear this was part of a plan devised by the leading three riders, as neither Angus Tobin or Troy tried to close the gap.

This plan was further reinforced a few kilometres later as both riders took advantage of another incline, powering away from the remainder of the bunch. They worked well together and rejoined MacPhillamy with the trio battling it out to the finish.

Angus Tobin proved too strong, taking out the sprint to the line ahead of MacPhillamy and Troy.