Farrell rides into win

22/12/2009 00:00

Farrell rides into win

22 Dec, 2009 07:53 AM

ROD Farrell has claimed the 2009 Forest Reefs Tavern Christmas Cup after holding on for the win on Saturday.

The Orange rider won the handicapped race, preventing favourite and defending champion Dean Windsor from claiming his second Christmas Cup.

Farrell completed the 54km event in one hour 32 minutes and five seconds.

The hot and windy conditions took their toll on the highly-fancied scratch riders and they came in three minutes behind the winners.

The handicap system was a success with the majority of the field coming together on the last hill before a sprint decided the winner.

Farrell was part of the third bunch of riders along with Bruce Goddard, Steve Brilley, Dave Van Shaik, Mick Cain and Matt Dean.

This bunch caught the group in front half-way into the second lap.

Andrew Foxall, Richard Martin, Adam Williams and Scott Allan were part of this group and stayed in the bunch despite the hot pace.

Charlie Gascoyne, Angus Tobin and Michael Troy continued to chase and may have been in the sprint finish but Tobin cramped up on the last lap leaving the other two to do the work.

Farrell won the sprint-finish ahead of Bathurst riders Steve Brilley and Bruce Goddard.

Favourites Dean Windsor and younger brother Blair came in 15th and 13th respectively.

Blair Windsor completed the course in the quickest time of 1.19.26.

Bathurst’s Danielle Goddard was the fastest woman.