Angus claims major award...CWD

11/08/2010 00:00

Angus claims major award

11 Aug, 2010 07:54 PM
ORANGE Cycle Club rider Angus Tobin has been crowned the NSW under 19 rider of the year.

Based on points scored in races competed over the Cycling NSW Road Series winter season, Tobin won the gong from tough riders Sam Spokes and Jordan Davies.

Spokes is currently representing Australia at the junior world titles.

Tobin was extremely pleased to win the award.

“There was plenty of competition, I thought I was a chance but guys like Sam, he’s a pretty handy rider,” Tobin said.

“I was aiming for it, I just wasn’t sure whether or not I would be able to earn enough points up late in the season because I wasn’t training as hard.”

Tobin’s early-season form saw him gain valuable points from the Blayney to Bathurst time trials, road race and criterium events.

A stellar NSW state titles which saw the 18-year-old finish second in the criterium and first in the time trial gave Tobin a handy lead heading into the final stages of the season.

Further races at Inverell and a the ride for life meeting was enough to get Tobin over the line.

However, with Higher School Certificate studies taking greater priority, training and racing took a back seat and Tobin thought this would be his downfall.

n From back page

“I backed off a bit with school and I just hoped that my early-season form was enough but you can never be sure,” he said.

“There is a group of around 20 blokes there that compete in every race and just keep plugging away. I just tried to carry my form and it turned out to be enough.”

Once Tobin completes his HSC studies he plans on riding in the Bay Criterium in Geelong, a race in which Bathurst’s Mark Renshaw has competed in for the last few years.

“I’ll be in the pro division in Geelong which will make it tougher. It’ll be the first time in the division. I’ll be competing against guys like Mark Renshaw,” he said.

“I know Mark quite well. I think with the headbutting in the tour, he just showed people how tough it can be in the final stages of the race.”

Tobin said he had goals of riding overseas and hoped winning the award would benefit his dream.

“(Winning) basically shows who’s the best under 19s rider around. The points scoring encompasses all events in the state and accumulating points is tough,” he said.

“It’s definitely handy to have on your resume. Hopefully it’ll help me find a team when I go overseas.”